HomeAfricaCurrie Cup LIVE scores: Pumas vs Western Province

Currie Cup LIVE scores: Pumas vs Western Province

Pumas vs Western Province LIVE scores.

The Pumas are currently in fifth place with 19 points and must be considered favourites for this home tie against second from bottom Western Province, who return to action from a bye in the previous round.

Pumas vs Western Province LIVE scores

Last weekend’s important 20-10 away win over the Sharks in Durban means the Lowvelders are now only two points behind Griquas, who are sitting in fourth spot with 21 points. However, the men from Kimberley have played nine games to date compared to the pink jerseys’ eight.

A win will see the Nelspruit outfit overtake their Kimberley rivals, which will be a significant move considering there remains only two more games after this round before the semi-finals.

Testing unbeaten hosts

Evan Roos of DHL Western Province during the Carling Currie Cup match between Pumas and Western Province at Mbombela Stadium. (Photo by Dirk Kotze/Gallo Images)

Jimmy Stonehouse’s team are unbeaten in their last two meetings with their Cape opponents following a convincing 37-11 triumph earlier in March in the Mother City plus a pulsating 40-40 draw last August in the DHL Stadium. Before these two results they have lost the previous three fixtures between them, including last July’s corresponding 37-23 loss in Nelspruit.

WP, on the other hand, are desperate to snap a disappointing sequence of seven successive losses.



15 Devon Williams, 14 Sebastian de Klerk, 13 Alwayno Visagie, 12 Eddie Fouche, 11 Tapiwa Mafura, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Willie Engelbrecht (captain), 7 Anele Lungisa, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Shane Kirkwood, 4 Malembe Mpofu, 3 Ignatius Prinsloo, 2 Eduan Swart, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Llewellyn Classen, 17 Dewald Maritz, 18 Simon Raw, 19 Darrien Landsberg, 20 Phumzile Maqondwana, 21 Giovan Snyman, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Etienne Taljaard

Western Province

15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Timothy Swiel, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Marcel Theunissen, 6 Nama Xaba (captain), 5 Ben-Jason Dixon, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Jacques van Zyl, 1 Kwenzo Blose

Substitutes: 16 HP van Schoor, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Simon Miller, 20 Junior Pokomela, 21 Bobby Alexander, 22 Mnombo Zwelendaba, 23 Ebenezer Tshimanga

Source link