Weâ€™ve all been there. Youâ€™ve spotted an Instagram post from someone you know that needs some instant analysis from friends.
But after taking a screenshot, or saving the post for later viewing, youâ€™re suddenly struck with the paranoia that person has just been notified â€“ especially if youâ€™ve been lurking at odd hours, or are five years back in their photos.
Or maybe youâ€™ve shared a video or photo you wish you hadnâ€™t on your direct messages (DMs), and you want to know if anyoneâ€™s taken a hard copy.
But how can you know if Instagram has notified the other person that you saved their post, or if someone has taken a screenshot of your DMs? Hereâ€™s everything you need to know.
Will instagram notify the person if I screenshot or save their post?
At the moment, Instagram does not notify users if someone has taken screenshots of (or saved) their posts, stories, reels, or permanent DM conversations.
This is also the case if you take a screen recording of a userâ€™s post, allowing you to creep in peace.
If someone has a business or creator account, then Instagram will let them know how many people have saved their post â€“ but not the individual users.
However, Instagram will notify someone if a screenshot has been taken of a disappearing picture or video sent in a private DM.
A disappearing photo or video is one that has been taken with the camera button in a DM chat, and is deleted after a user has viewed it once.
If someone screenshots a disappearing photo or video, a small dashed circle will appear next to it.
But a user wonâ€™t be notified if someone screenshots a photo or video shared from their camera roll in a DM thread.
Share your views in the comments below