How to deactivate your Facebook account

(Credit: Getty)

Social media connects us to our friends and family, but it can also send us into a spiral of comparisons and judgement.

A lot of people have chosen to simply get rid of their profiles so they can live in the present by staying off-grid.

Closing your Facebook account is actually easier than you might think – and despite the fact Mark Zuckerberg is keen for Facebook to enter our homes as well as our phones – there is a temporary deactivation option as well as a permanent delete.

(Photo by Carl Court/Getty Images)

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

  1. Log into your Facebook account, and click the ‘hamburger’ icon (the three horizontal lines).
  2. Scroll down and click ‘Settings’.
  3. Scroll down and click ‘Account ownership and control’. 
  4. Tap ‘Deactivation and deletion’
  5. Select ‘Deactivate account’ and click ‘Continue to account deactivation’.
  6. Follow the instructions and click ‘Confirm’ and you’re done. 
(Picture Getty)

How to reactivate your account

Deactivating disables your profile and removes your name and photos from most things you’ve shared. There will still be some things visible to others, such as your name in other people’s friends lists. It simply means people will no longer be able to search for you or interact with your profile.

If you’re not 100% sure and want to get back on Facebook, all you need to do is log in and your account will be fully restored.

If you decide to permanently delete your account, you can do so here. However, you won’t ever be able to retrieve any of the information related to your profile after you’ve done this, so back up any photos or contacts you need beforehand.

How do I permanently delete my account?

Before deleting your account permanently, you may want to log in and download and copy of your information (including your photos and posts).

To delete your Facebook account:

  1. Log into your Facebook account, and click the ‘hamburger’ icon (the three horizontal lines).
  2. Scroll down and click ‘Settings’.
  3. Scroll down and click ‘Account ownership and control’. 
  4. Tap ‘Deactivation and deletion’ and select ‘Delete account’.
  5. Tap ‘Continue to account deletion’ and select ‘Delete account’.

If you have second thoughts about deleting your account, you have 30 days to change your mind. During the 30 days after you deleted your account, you can cancel the account deletion at any time and your account will be retrieved.

After 30 days your account and all of your information will be permanently deleted.


MORE : Facebook is about to make a huge change to your news feed


MORE : How to use Tinder without Facebook



Source link

Latest

US judge rules in favour of 3 drug distributors in opioid lawsuit

Court found the companies did not cause an oversupply...

Fourth of July weekend marred by violent shootings across U.S.

This year's Fourth of July weekend, a time when...

China imposes Covid lockdown in Xi’an after handful of cases

Businesses, schools and restaurants in Xi’an will close for...

Crypto Crashed. Wall Street Won.

How Wall Street’s biggest banks sidestepped the crypto meltdownAs...

Bill Gates’ CV from 1974 lists a staggering amount of personal detail

How many personal details do you list on your CV? If you’re Bill Gates and you’re just starting out on your technological career then the...

On Conservative Radio, Misleading Message Is Clear: ‘Democrats Cheat’

Radio remains perhaps the most influential conduit for right-wing thought, despite the rise of podcasts and social media. Tens of millions of people nationwide,...

NHS trials using drones to deliver chemotherapy drugs

A pilot scheme will courier chemotherapy drugs from Portsmouth to the Isle of Wight, NHS England says. Source link