HomeIndia'I will implement the five promises': Kharge after Cong win in Karnataka

‘I will implement the five promises’: Kharge after Cong win in Karnataka

After the Congress recorded a resounding victory in the Karnataka assembly election, Congress Speaker Mallikarjun Kharge assured the people on Sunday that the big party will fulfill the five promises made to the public in the party’s manifesto after the formation of the cabinet.

During the Karnataka Assembly election campaign, the Congress sought to maintain the narrative of local issues.

Congress bet heavily on its five guarantees – Gruha Jyothi, Gruha Lakshmi, Anna Bhagya, Yuva Nidhi and Shakti – with party leaders pledging their immediate implementation if the party comes to power.

While speaking to the media, Kharge said: “The people of Karnataka rejected the BJP and returned the Congress party to power. The people have given us a record number of votes. We will implement the 5 promises we made to the public in our manifesto after that we form our cabinet”.

“CLP meeting will take place today and deliver the report to the high command, after which the high command will take their time to declare the name of the Chief Minister of Karnataka,” Kharge added.

Kharge on Sunday appointed three observers in Karnataka, including former Maharashtra Prime Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde and party leaders Jitendra Singh and Deepak Babaria for the election of the Legislative Congress Party (CLP) leader in the state.

Referring to his social media username, KC Venugopal said, “The Congress Speaker has appointed Sushil Kumar Shinde (former Chief Minister, Maharashtra), Jitendra Singh (AICC GS) and Deepak Babaria (former AICC GS) as observers. for the election of the Legislative Congress. leader of the party (CLP) of Karnataka”.

The observers will be present at the Congressional Legislative Party (CLP) meeting and present the report to the party’s high command.

Earlier on Saturday, Venugopal referred to the Congress party’s sweeping victory in the Karnataka Assembly election as “one of the milestones ahead of the 2024 election.”

Speaking about the victory, KC Venugopal said, “This is one of the milestones of the 2024 election.”

Venugopal further said that Congress stood up for the state’s poor and therefore won the people’s mandate.

“The kind of divisive politics that the BJP does will not always succeed. This is a clear message. We stood up for the poor of Karnataka. They stood up for the rich. Ultimately, the poor won this election. This is the clear narrative of this election “, said.

According to the Election Commission of India, the Congress won 135 seats that ousted the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from power in the only southern state it ruled and boosted its own prospects for the upcoming election battles. BJP managed to win 66 seats.

Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) won 19 seats. Independents won two seats, while Kalyana Rajya Pragathi Paksha and Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha each won one seat.

(Only the headline and image in this report may have been modified by Business Standard staff; all other content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

- Advertisment -