PCB announces Pakistan cricket team’s departure schedule

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday announced the national team’s departure schedule to the UAE for the upcoming T20 World Cup. 

The Babar Azam-led Pakistan squad will leave for the country on October 15 via a chartered flight.

As per details, the players participating in the National T20 World Cup will move from one bubble to another after the completion of the event.

The much-anticipated World Cup will begin on October 17 while the final will be played on November 14.

All the members of the national team’s support staff will gather in Lahore on October 8 and will be quarantined for seven days at a local hotel in Lahore.

Bowling consultant Vernon Philander will arrive in Pakistan on October 7 and will join the squad in the UAE. He will travel with the national team to the UAE.

Meanwhile, batting consultant Matthew Hayden will join the national squad in the UAE.

The cricket board has allowed all members of the national squad to take their families along with them to the UAE.

The PCB is yet to formally announce the names of the support staff members who will accompany the national team to the UAE.

According to sources, the cricket board has decided to appoint Saqlain Mushtaq as head of the support staff.

Saqlain Mushtaq, fielding coach Abdul Majeed and strength and conditioning Coach Drix Simon will also travel with the team to the bio-secure bubble in the UAE, sources said.

Chief Selector Muhammad Waseem had announced Pakistan’s squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup.

·       Babar Azam (captain)

·       Shadab Khan (vice-captain)

·       Asif Ali

·       Azam Khan (wicketkeeper)

·       Haris Rauf

·       Hasan Ali

·       Imad Wasim

·       Khushdil Shah

·       Mohammad Hafeez

·       Mohammad Hasnain

·       Mohammad Nawaz

·       Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper)

·       Mohammad Wasim Jnr

·       Shaheen Shah Afridi

·       Sohaib Maqsood

Source link