Sinn Fein select new Foyle MLAs to replace outgoing Martina Anderson and Karen Mullan

A Sinn Fein convention in Derry on Wednesday has selected two new MLAs to represent the Foyle constituency.

adraig Delargy and Ciara Ferguson will replace outgoing MLAs Martina Anderson and Karen Mullan, who previously announced they will step down from the Stormont Assembly on September 13.

Sinn Fein’s Pearse Doherty said the pair will bring “a great deal of experience and enthusiasm”.

Mr Delargy is a 25-year-old member of the party in Derry, while Ms Ferguson is from Strabane and has been a community development worker for over 20 years.

In May, outgoing MLAs Anderson and Mullan both said they would not be contesting the next Stormont election.

The decision followed an internal Sinn Fein party review in the Derry constituency.

The family of Ms Anderson criticised the party following her decision to stand down and had previously accused Sinn Fein of “publicly humiliating” her.

Ms Anderson and Ms Mullan are set to take on internal roles within Sinn Fein, with Mr Doherty thanking them for “all the hard work they have done”.

The new MLAs selected by Sinn Fein will sit in the Assembly when the new term begins next week.

“I would like to congratulate Padraig Delargy and Ciara Ferguson tonight on their selection as the newest MLAs to represent Sinn Féin and Derry in the Assembly, subject to approval by the Ard Chomhairle,” added Mr Doherty.

“Padraig and Ciara will both bring a great deal of experience and enthusiasm to our Assembly team at such a crucial time for politics across the island of Ireland and a new era for Sinn Fein in Derry.”

Download the Belfast Telegraph App

Get quick and easy access to the latest Northern Ireland news, sport, business and opinion with the Belfast Telegraph App.

Get it on Google Play

Source link


SpaceX’s Starship won’t launch on 1st orbital test flight this month

The first orbital test flight of SpaceX's Starship vehicle...

Sports News: World and National Sports Headlines, Score Updates, Highlights, Stats & Results –

Sign in to Sportsnet Subscribe to league newsletters Play fantasy sports Comment...

Suspect denied involvement, documents say

After he was pulled over by New Mexico police,...

White whale stranded in French river euthanised during rescue

A beluga whale that became a French celebrity after...

Islamic State: Aine Davis arrested in UK on terrorism charges

A man accused of being part of an Islamic State cell nicknamed the Beatles has been arrested on terror charges in the UK.Aine Davis...

Twitter Users Remind Trump What He Previously Said About The Fifth Amendment

Donald Trump’s decision to plead the Fifth Amendment on Wednesday in response to the New York attorney general’s questions about his dealings as a...