HomeUKUS Open golf 2021: first round – live!

US Open golf 2021: first round – live!

Good morning you crazy west-coast kids. It’s late afternoon over here in Blighty; it’s going to be a long night. So let’s not stand on too much ceremony.

Bryson DeChambeau defends his title at Torrey Pines, scene of Tiger’s famous win on one leg in 2008. Jordan Spieth is the man channeling that injury-defying energy this week, having recently turned his right ankle, which is heavily strapped. Two-time winner Brooks Koepka is also not firing at 100 percent, post knee surgery, but you can write him off at your peril. See also: Phil Mickelson, 51 years old yesterday, the oldest major-winning swinger in town, hoping to complete his career grand slam on one of the courses of his youth. Other players – Justin Thomas, Dustin Johnson, Xander Schauffele, Collin Morikawa, Tony Finau, Hideki Matsuyama, Rory McIlroy and most notably Jon Rahm, who gets on extremely well with with this place – are available. We’ll get to them all in due course.

There was a delay of about 90 minutes this morning due to fog, though some of the big names are out there already, and we’ll get to that in a minute. But in the meantime, for the sake of completion and for what it’s now worth, here are today’s scheduled tee-times (USA unless stated, all times UK). The first round of the 121st US Open is on!

Starting at hole 1.
14.45 Sahith Theegala, Greyson Sigg, Edoardo Molinari (Ita)
14.56 J. J. Spaun, Fabian Gomez (Arg), Chris Baker
15.07 Robby Shelton, Patrick Rodgers, Pierceson Coody
15.18 Mackenzie Hughes (Can), Russell Henley, Harris English
15.29 Henrik Stenson (Swe), Francesco Molinari (Ita), Shane Lowry (Irl)
15.40 Viktor Hovland (Nor), Tyrrell Hatton (Eng), Matthew Fitzpatrick (Eng)
15.51 Gary Woodland, Webb Simpson, Martin Kaymer (Ger)
16.02 Tony Finau, Daniel Berger, Abraham Ancer (Mex)
16.13 Bernd Wiesberger (Aut), Kevin Na, Si Woo Kim (Kor)
16.24 Jimmy Walker, Ian Poulter (Eng), Ryan Palmer
16.35 J. T. Poston, Joe Long (Eng), Adam Hadwin (Can)
16.46 Matt Sharpstene, Dylan Meyer, Luis Fernando Barco (Per)
16.57 Davis Shore, Wilson Furr, Mario Carmona
20.30 Zachary Zaback, Eric Cole, Steve Allan (Aus)
20.41 Jordan Smith (Eng), Taylor Montgomery, Hayden Buckley
20.52 Chez Reavie, Troy Merritt, Richard Bland (Eng)
21.03 Matt Wallace (Eng), Victor Perez (Fra), Robert MacIntyre (Sco)
21.14 Tyler Strafaci, Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn), Bryson DeChambeau
21.25 Bubba Watson, Adam Scott (Aus), Sergio Garcia (Spa)
21.36 Justin Rose (Eng), Rory McIlroy (NIrl), Dustin Johnson
21.47 Brendan Steele, Cameron Smith (Aus), Matt Jones (Aus)
21.58 Carlos Ortiz (Mex), Zach Johnson, Lanto Griffin
22.09 Chan Kim, Thomas Detry (Bel), Sam Burns
22.20 Brian Stuard, Ollie Osborne, Peter Malnati
22.31 Johannes Veerman, Zack Sucher, John Huh
22.42 Carson Schaake, Rick Lamb, Michael Johnson

Starting at 10
14.45 Andy Pope, Brad Kennedy (Aus), Thomas Aiken (Rsa)
14.56 Jhonattan Vegas (Ven), Yosuke Asaji (Jpn), Marcus Armitage (Eng)
15.07 Cameron Young, Wilco Nienaber (Rsa), Guido Migliozzi (Ita)
15.18 Matthew Wolff, Brian Harman, Tommy Fleetwood (Eng)
15.29 Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Brooks Koepka
15.40 Matt Kuchar, Kevin Kisner, Billy Horschel
15.51 Xander Schauffele, Phil Mickelson, Max Homa
16.02 Jason Kokrak, Corey Conners (Can), Cameron Champ
16.13 Sam Ryder, Ryo Ishikawa (Jpn), Paul Barjon (Fra)
16.24 Kyoung-Hoon Lee (Kor), Martin Laird (Sco), Dylan Frittelli (Rsa)
16.35 Adrian Meronk (Pol), Sung-Hoon Kang (Kor), Rafael Cabrera (Spa)
16.46 Alvaro Ortiz (Mex), Andrew Kozan, Akshay Bhatia
16.57 Hayden Springer, Jimmy Hervol, Roy Cootes
20.30 Taylor Pendrith (Can), Wade Ormsby (Aus), David Coupland (Eng)
20.41 Tom Hoge, Bo Hoag, Joe Highsmith
20.52 Erik van Rooyen (Rsa), Charl Schwartzel (Rsa), Christiaan Bezuidenhout (Rsa)
21.03 Joaquin Niemann (Chi), Garrick Higgo (Rsa), Cole Hammer
21.14 Lee Westwood (Eng), Stewart Cink, Paul Casey (Eng)
21.25 Will Zalatoris, Jordan Spieth, Scottie Scheffler
21.36 Patrick Reed, Jon Rahm (Spa), Marc Leishman (Aus)
21.47 Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa), Sung Jae Im (Kor), Patrick Cantlay
21.58 Kevin Streelman, Charley Hoffman, Branden Grace (Rsa)
22.09 Brendon Todd, Sebastian Munoz (Col), Rikuya Hoshino (Jpn)
22.20 Matthew Southgate (Eng), Matthias Schmid (Ger), Wyndham Clark
22.31 Dylan Wu, Justin Suh, Spencer Ralston
22.42 Kyle Westmoreland, Luis Gagne (Crc), Christopher Crawford

Source link

- Advertisment -