Wikipedia’s Jimmy Wales On Fake News During The Pandemic

AsianScientist (May 28, 2020) – Besides the coronavirus, we are concurrently fighting another viral threat—fake news and misinformation. This ‘infodemic’ of misinformation ranges from conspiracy theories about the origins of the virus to unproven treatments that have caused fatalities.

Since the start of the year, Wikipedia has become the go-to source for COVID-19 medical and health information—it has had more than 100 million views on COVID-19 articles, safeguarded by a group of editors called Wikimedia Medicine, which has experience from past public-health scares such as the 2003 SARS outbreak.

Join Wildtype Media Group CEO Juliana Chan as she chats with Jimmy Wales, co-founder of Wikipedia and one of TIME Magazine’s “The 100 Most Influential People in the World.”

In this session, Jimmy will discuss the spread of fake news and misinformation during the pandemic, and the importance of digital literacy when consuming COVID-19 information.

Date:
Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Time:
9:00 am US Eastern Time
2:00 pm UK time
9:00 pm Singapore/Hong Kong Time

Please register here.

———

Copyright: Asian Scientist Magazine.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.



Source link